Unabridged Access

28 January 2017

Sound Clip Saturday: The Cruelty

In The Cruelty 17-year-old Gwendolyn Bloom is fighting to find her father and keep herself from becoming a casualty along the way. When her father suddenly goes missing, Gwendolyn learns he really worked for the CIA—not the State Department as she has always been told. Gwendolyn soon realizes nobody wants to get her father back after he disappears, and the only way she’ll get him back is by finding him herself.

Pushed into a race against time to find her father’s captors before they realize she is looking for him, Gwendolyn leaves New York to search the hidden corners of Europe for the last place he was. This unlikely heroine’s fight to save her father is real, gritty, and violent; the book paints a world where allies die, friends betray, and loved ones aren’t always who you think they are.

Already heralded as one of the best YA novels of 2017, this debut by Scott Bergstrom smashes expectations about what is and is not possible, and will grip listeners as they try to figure out what comes next. Real, suspenseful, and hard to put down, this audiobook is a must-listen for fans of Taken, The Girl on the Train, and The Bourne Identity.

Therese Plummer gives voice to this thrilling listen, which has already been optioned for film by Jerry Bruckheimer. Listen to an excerpt here:

Leave a Reply